Toitū Otago Settlers Museum

Operating hours: Open daily 10am - 5pm. Closed Christmas Day.
Admission fee: Free entry.
Type: Museum

Our doors first opened in 1908, the 60th anniversary of the founding of Dunedin city and the Otago province.

We trace the lives of our settlers – indigenous Maori, the early Chinese, and following waves of migrant groups – and their technological innovation, art, fashion, domestic life and transport.

We are housed in the stunning, original Edwardian galleries, Dunedin's former New Zealand Rail Road Transport Building (1939) and the recently completed entrance foyer (2012).

Online

Contact details

Phone
03 477 5052

Email
toituosm@dcc.govt.nz
Physical address
31 Queens Gardens
Central City
Dunedin
9016
Postal address
PO Box 566
Dunedin
9054